Millersville University Home

Where Giving Matters

give now

African American and Latino Scholarships

Millersville University offers three application-based scholarships for African American or Latino students.  They are the African American/Latino Alumni Scholarship, the Parker-Jones-Womack Scholarship, and the Thrillersville Scholarship.

More about the Scholarships

1. Established in 1992, the African American/ Latino Alumni Scholarship (AA/LAS) strives to recognize outstanding, involved African-American and Latino juniors and seniors and seeks to aid them in graduating from Millersville University.  The AA/LAS scholarship was initially endowed in 1997 and continues to grow each year through generous support from alumni, friends, organizations, businesses, and parents.  The endowment funds up to three one-time scholarships annually for undergraduate students of great promise.  In addition to the AA/LAS Scholarships, the endowment funds one graduate award in memory of Keith S. Mills '78 who served on the committee until his death in 2003.

2. The Parker-Jones-Womack Scholarship was founded by Kate Parker '76 and her family and friends.  The endowment funds one scholarship annually.

3. The Thrillersville Scholarship is funded by a group of Millersville University alumni and friends, many of whom are part of a social group who raise funds for this scholarship.  This scholarship is given to up to four student each year.

4. The Francine G. and Gladys B. McNairy Scholarship was funded by former university president Francine G. McNairy in recognition of her service at Millersville and to honor the memory of her mother.  The endowment funds up to two students annually.


  • All undergraduate applicants must have a minimum 2.5 GPA and have completed at least 30 credits.
  • Candidates for these scholarships must complete an application, provide a letter of recommendation regarding community service, and demonstrate effective written communication skills through an essay.
  • Applicants for the graduate scholarship must have 12 credits with a minimum GPA of 3.
  • Applicants may receive one or more of these awards.  None are renewable.

Meet the 2014-15 AA/LAS Scholarship Recipients

Nathaniel MirandaNathaniel Miranda

Nathaniel Miranda from York, Pa is a senior majoring in finance and accounting. After graduation, Nathaniel plans to attend graduate school to further his studies in accounting which will better prepare him to pass the CPA exam.

Caryneri SanchezCaryneri Sanchez

Caryneri Sanchez from Lancaster, Pa will graduate in 2015 with a degree in social work. After graduation Caryneri plans to attend Millersville to pursue a dual master's in Social Work and Emergency Management.

Joshua BardJoshua Bard

Joshua Bard from New Holland, Pa is a sophomore majoring in biology. After graduation Joshua plans to attand a School of Veterinary Medicine to become an Avian Vet and assist all animals.

How You Can Make a Difference

Gifts from individuals, groups, organizations, and businesses help increase the scholarship amounts we can offer.  To make your gift online, click here or send a check made payable to Millersville University Foundation with AA/LAS, Parker-Jones-Womack, or Thrillersville marked in the memo field to: Development Office, Millersville University, PO Box 1002, Millersville, PA 17551

Common Scholarship Application

AA/LAS Committee Members

  • Tamara Willis, EdD '99, Chair
  • Cassandra Graves, DD '76
  • Antonio Hernandez, Jr. '96
  • Garvia M. Hill '76
  • Tiffany R. Jackson '94
  • April Lavong '81
  • Regina Tellado '95
  • Antoine R. Wright '02
  • Angel L. Shelley-Royal '02
  • Rebecca L. Santiago '08
Give Today!

For more information, please contact Martha MacAdam at 717-871-7520.