Educator of the Year Committee

The Educator of the Year (EOY) Committee resides in Academic Affairs.

Committee Charge: The Educator of the Year Award Committee is to annually review applications for the award and recommend an awardee for recognition.

Committee Membership:

Provost or Designee

One member from each of the five academic colleges (AHSS, EDHS, LCOB, SCTE, and University College) (3 year term after first round)

One Emeritus Faculty (2 year term)

One MU Alum (2 year term)

Undergraduate Student Representative (SGA) Annual Term

Graduate Student Representative (GSA) Annual Term

Selection Process and Timeline:

- 1. A call for EOY nominations will come each Fall semester with a deadline being the last Friday in January.
- The Committee will be assembled each year (as per membership terms below) in the Fall semester and elect a chair. When needed to fill a vacancy (and annually in the case of the student representatives) a call will go out for nominations for membership on the committee.
- 3. Committee members cannot serve more than 2 consecutive terms.
- 4. The Chair will invite Emeritus Faculty and Alumni members to join for a 2 year term.
- The Committee will review applications and select an awardee by the second Friday in March. The recommendation will be shared with the Provost but will remain confidential until a formal announcement is made to the University community.

Initial Committee Membership terms:

2024-2025

Emeritus Faculty Member (move to 2 year term after initial 1 year term)

2024-2025 to 2026-2027

AHSS, LCOB, University College Faculty (move to three year after first 2 year term)

Alumni (keep as 2 year terms)

2024-2025 to 2027-2028

EDHS and SCTE Faculty (continue on 3 year terms)

Annual Term

Undergraduate Student Representative (SGA)

Graduate Student Representative (GSA)