Millersville University Governance & Policies

Effective: November 2019

University Governance PRESIDENT'S COMMISSION on GENDER & SEXUAL DIVERSITY

Approved: November 22, 2019 University President

The President's Commission on Gender and Sexual Diversity was established by University administration to foster a university climate that promotes equity, inclusion, and affirmation for all people representative within the spectrum of gender and sexual expression (e.g., are or are perceived to be lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender/transsexual, questioning/queer, intersex, allies/androgynous/asexual (LGBTQIA), etc.) at Millersville University. The Commission actively supports policies, practices, and programs that pursue this goal for students, staff, faculty, administrators, and the general public with respect to sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression.

Membership

- 1. On or before February 1 of each year, the Commission shall submit recommendations to the University President for appointment to the Commission.
- 2. Appointment to the Commission is at the sole discretion of the University President.
- 3. Membership shall consist of a minimum of fifteen (15) voting members including the Commission Chairperson(s)—with representation from among administrators, faculty, staff, students from the university, and members from the surrounding community.
- 4. Minimum representation from the following divisions of the university should be as follows:
 - a. Administration 2
 - b. Faculty 3
 - c. Staff 3
 - d. Students 3
 - e. Community members 2

- 5. Ex-officio members shall include: the Vice President of Student Affairs or their designee, the Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer or their designee, the Faculty Advisor for the Gender and Sexuality Alliance (Allies), the President of the Gender and Sexuality Alliance (Allies) or their designee, a member of the President's Commission on Cultural Diversity & Inclusion, and a member of the President's Commission on the Status of Women. These positions shall be counted as it pertains to provision D.
- 6. Terms of Membership
 - a. Members shall be appointed by the University President to serve overlapping terms of three years, except for students and community members, who will serve one-year renewable terms. Student members are eligible for term renewal if they maintain their active enrollment status.
 - b. No member shall serve more than six years in succession.
 - c. The anniversary date of terms shall be June 1.
 - d. Should a member resign prior to the expiration of their term, the Commission shall submit a list of recommendations from which the President shall select a replacement to complete the remainder of the term of that member.
 - e. In the event of chronic absenteeism (attendance at fewer than three regularly scheduled meetings in one year), the Commission Chairperson shall consult with the member to determine whether a permanent replacement shall be named. If a replacement is to be named, the Commission shall submit recommendations to the University President for appointment.

Officers

The officers of the Commission shall be Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, and Treasurer. The Chairperson shall be appointed by the President for a term of two years. All other officers shall be elected by the Commission and serve for a one-year term, commencing on June 1 each year. Officers may serve for at most 3 consecutive terms in a single position.

- 1. The Chairperson shall be responsible for setting meeting agendas and conducting meetings, as well as acting as liaison to the University President.
- 2. The Vice Chairperson shall assist the Commission Chairperson, and act in their absence.
- 3. The Secretary shall be responsible for production and distribution of accurate minutes of Commission meetings.

4. The Treasurer shall make regular reports regarding the financial status of the Commission.

Subcommittees

- 1. The Commission shall consist of the following standing subcommittees with the indicated duties and responsibilities:
 - a. Executive Committee. This committee shall consist of the Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, the Secretary, the Treasurer, the Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer, and at least one, but no more than 3, member(s) of the Commission at large (selected by the Commission officers). Its responsibilities shall include: budgeting, planning, recommending and reviewing Commission goals and programs; nomination of new members; bylaw revisions; managing social media accounts, and marketing materials; and acting on behalf of the Committee for emergencies between regularly scheduled meetings. The Commission Chairperson shall chair this subcommittee.
 - b. Safe Zone Committee. Its responsibilities shall include: in conjunction with Human Resources and any other appropriate University Departments for development and presentation of a Safe Zone training curriculum, management of a Safe Zone program and website as well as management of a Safe Zone participant's registry.
- 2. The Commission shall appoint such other committees as it deems appropriate. In addition, the Executive Committee is empowered to appoint ad hoc task forces as needed.
- 3. All committee chairpersons must be nominated by the Executive Committee for annual election by the Commission.
- 4. Each committee must submit an annual budget and committee reports of activities to the Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer by May 30.

Functions

- 1. To explore, facilitate, and advocate inclusive excellence in ways to ensure equity among all people representative within the spectrum of gender and sexual expression at Millersville University including but not limited to the areas of employment, recruitment, academic life, student life, and academic offerings.
- 2. To monitor the efforts of Millersville University and to assist it in achieving equity and inclusion with respect to sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression.

- 3. Collaborate with the Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer to advise the President on all matters pertaining to issues of sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression.
- 4. To serve as an important partner to the President's Commission on Cultural Diversity and Inclusion and the President's Commission on the Status of Women in areas of shared interest.
- 5. Provide evidence-based programming data/metrics to be used for the development of future strategic initiatives.
- 6. To serve as a liaison to and supporter of any State System (PASSHE) initiative(s). The Commission shall be responsible for the appointment of representatives to said initiative(s).

Modifications

Modifications of this committee reside with the University President.